Text Size
Decrease TextReset TextIncrease Text


Joint Commission International (JCI) Accreditation

JCI Accreditation  

The Institute of Mental Health (IMH) was the first mental health institution in the region to be awarded the prestigious Joint Commission International (JCI) accreditation in September 2005. JCI, the international arm of The Joint Commission, has been working with healthcare organisations and ministries of health in more than 80 countries since 1994. The JCI award represents a high international benchmark on quality patient care and safety standards.

IMH was commended for two exceptional areas:

  • Seven clinical pathways-these have been implemented for the treatment of psychiatric patients, including evidence of clinical outcomes.
  • Excellence in competency assessment-this applies to nursing staff following training.


We are also very pleased to have received many key awards in recognition of our dedication to promote mental health through areas such as research, mentoring and caring for our patients and the community. IMH has received the following awards since 2010.

President Award for Nurses 2016

National Day 2015_Raveen      The highest accolade of the nursing profession, the national award recognises outstanding nurses who have shown sustained performance in their contributions to patient care, education, leadership, research and administration. 

PS21 Star Service Awards 2015

The PS21 Star Service Award recognises public officers who have consistently demonstrated outstanding service excellence. By celebrating exemplary role models, this highly coveted award encourages and inspires all public officers to strive towards higher standards of service quality. The PS21 Star Service Team Award that recognises teams who have come together to deliver excellent service and in doing so, improve the lives of Singaporeans.


PS21 Star Service Award

Penny Chua - PS21 

Ms Penny Chua, Assistant Director, Corporate Communications

PS21 Star Service Team Award

The Award was presented to Fernvale Primary School and its partners - Fernvale Gardens School, Grace Orchard School, REACH (North), and the Institute of Mental Health - for providing mental health care support for their students.

National Day Awards 2016

The National Day Awards are a means of recognising various forms of merit and service to Singapore.

The Public Administration Medal (Bronze) 

NDA 16 Chong Siow Ann 
Prof Chong Siow Ann
Vice Chairman, Medical Board (Research)


The Commendation Medal  

 NDA 2016 Ng Bee Lan     NDA 2016 Susan Lim 

Ng Bee Lan
Director, Finance

  Susan Lim
Deputy Director, Ambulatory Services


The Efficiency Medal   

Jancirani Annamalai, Nurse Clinician
Samsuri Bin Buang, Senior Nurse Manager
Floresca Arlene Marissa Cabading, Nurse Clinician

The Long Service Medal 

Premchand s/o Chellaram, Senior Staff Nurse
Choo Boon Kiew Michela Irene, Senior Nurse Clinician
Dr Gwee Kok Peng, Senior Consultant, General Psychiatry
Hashim Bin Hassan, Nurse Clinician
Hafizah Binte Ismail, Nurse Clinician
Ajis Bin Jaafar, Health Attendant
Lee Ah Guan, Senior Staff Nurse
Lim Kim Hong, Business Office Assistant, Finance
Md Saifudin Bin Ma'arof, Senior Case Manager
Ow Yong Lai Chan @ Lee Mui Tin, Principal Assistant Nurse
Singaravelan s/o Pavadai, Clinical Nurse Educator
Farizah Binti Shahari, Senior Staff Nurse
Tham Pak Heng, Senior Staff Nurse
Muhammad Nur Bin Yusof. Senior Staff Nurse

Healthcare Humanity Award 2016

The Healthcare Humanity Award is a continuing legacy to the Courage Awards that were first given out to healthcare workers in 2003 for their extraordinary courage in curbing the SARS outbreak. This annual award recognises inspirational healthcare workers who go beyond the call of duty to help others. The Honourable Mention Awards recognise outstanding individuals for their selfless commitment to humanitarian efforts to uplift the lives of others.

HHA2016 Dr Jerome Goh
Dr Jerome Goh
Senior Consultant and Chief,
General and Forensic Psychiatry


HHA2016 Ms Leona Oh
Ms Leona Oh
Senior Medical Social Worker


   HHA2016 Mr Samsuri Bin Buang
Mr Samsuri Bin Buang
Senior Nurse Manager

HHA2016 Mr Lee Soon Hong 
Mr Lee Soon Hong
IMH Volunteer


HHA2016 Ms Lim Xiang Lin
Ms Lim Xiang Lin
IMH Volunteer


Tan Chin Tuan Award 2014

This Award recognises promising and talented Enrolled Nurses who are dedicated to advancing the nursing profession locally. Founded by the DS Lee Foundation in 2006, the Award is open to Enrolled Nurses working in all public and private healthcare institutions in Singapore.

TCT Aliff     TCT Baoyi  
Mohammed Aliff
Senior Assistant Nurse
  Qiu Baoyi
Senior Assistant Nurse


Nurses' Merit Award 2016


Merit Award 2016 Qi Zhegang  


Merit Award 2016  


Merit Award 2016 Zhao Cuili  

Qi Zhegang
Nurse Manager
  Foo Soon Buay
Principal Assistant Nurse

Zhao Cuili
Covering Senior Nurse Manager 










Merit Award 2016 Kua Bee Heong     Merit Award 2016 Sheeba  
Kua Bee Heong
Assistant Nurse Clinician
  Sheeba Nithya Nirubama
Nurse Clinician


A member of National Healthcare GroupWork Life Activeness AwardTUVTUVGold   Comm Chest Award 2012